DST for Verizon’s Motorola Q phone

Okay, at my other blog I did a whole write up on the issues for Daylight Saving Time…and yes it is Saving NOT Savings…don’t get me started. So anyhow, just finally got Verizon to admit that there were some issues and a need to update the “Q” phone I have with them. Let’s start with a breif intro for those of you that don’t know about the DST changes; the how’s or the why’s and where we go from here…you have no choice but to take the little red pill this time….

Beginning in the spring of 2007, the start dates and end dates for daylight saving time (DST) will change to comply with the Energy Policy Act of 2005. DST dates for 2007 in the United States and Canada will start three weeks earlier (2:00 A.M. on the second Sunday in March), and will end one week later (2:00 A.M. on the first Sunday in November).
Wireless Sync clients on all Windows Mobile devices (Motorola Q) require a DST update. You can follow the steps below within the next couple of days (Before March 11, 2007 everyone).

Select:
Start
Internet Explorer
Menu
Address Bar
Type in: http://ota.wsync.com/WSWM5SP.cab
Go
Download? Yes
Alert… OK

Installation will take a few minutes.

Press OK to restart your phone.

Please note, this is for informational purposes only and if you do the above steps you do so at your own risk. I would always suggest verifying with the provider, manufacturer, or software provider before performing any steps outline in our Techincal articles.

6 Responses to “DST for Verizon’s Motorola Q phone”

  1. Verizon installed this before I picked up my phone. I then noticed that my phone randomly “lost” an hour. I at first thought this was when I synced via ActiveSync 4.5, even though I had unchecked “update time upon connecting”. Bottom line, I have gone to WindowsMobile and updated both my PC and Q three times now, exactly as specified. I have tried syncing with the “update time” box both checked and unchecked. It makes no difference. The Q time does not change when I sync no matter what is checked… but later it will at some point always lose that hour. Any ideas?

  2. Make sure that they have selected the correct timezone and that should help out.

  3. Something weird here. The time zone (central) is correct. But I notice that when I select military time in the regional settings time format, I still get (for instance) 9:00 AM on the main screen display. And it still drops back a hour eventually. It is acting exactly like it is picking up the time from a server that is an hour slow, but I didn’t think the Q did that. I am using Verizon.

  4. Are you possibly on a network that might have some server issues with time? When syncing with your desktop is it after that when you see the issue or does it happen when not connected as well?

  5. That was what I thought at first, so I have not synced (haven’t connected the USB cable at all), haven’t downloaded any email, and am charging with the AC charger. It still drops back an hour at some point after I set the time correctly (always). All I can figure is that it is getting the wrong time from Verizon somehow. I set the time correctly, put it in the belt holster, and within an hour or two (when I next look at it), it has lost exactly one hour. BTW I have left it “wrong” for 8+ hours… it never loses another hour, just the one. I am going to another timezone this weekend… it will be interesting to see what happens there. I will let you know. Thanks for your help, and have a good weekend.

  6. Please note, if you have received your phone in the past two years you should be fine. If your time did not update please note that most cellular providers networks do not update your time until you have rebooted your phone.

    ‘Tis good to turn the thing off from time to time. 😉

Leave a Reply

