Cannot Open Virtual Machine in VMWare Workstation

When do you see this error?

Goof! When you, or someone else, does not “properly” shut down your virtual machine!  It could also happen because the host system crashed.  However, I’m pretty sure you did it! 😉

“Could not open virtual machine: C:\…….\machinename.vmx. This virtual machine appears to be in use.”

Here’s what you are going to do; well, if you want to see the VM instance back up anyhow. 
1.  Navigate to the directory where the VM image configuration file in question exists.
            a) you will see four folders with .lck extensions.  The folders are created when you start the instance.  If the VM is properly shut down these folders will be automatically deleted, but if the VM was not shut down properly they will not be deleted and VM will think that the image is already started and not allow you to view/manage the instance.

2.  Okay, now that you are in the directory of said instance and you have located the offending .lck folders; delete them.

3.  Start your instance up and enjoy.

That wasn’t so hard now was it?

5 Responses to “Cannot Open Virtual Machine in VMWare Workstation”

  1. Thank u i think i lost my vm but thank to you i dont have to

  2. Thanks a lot. I have a really big presentation with a very important client. If I have this problem in the presentation of my bussiness, i will loss the opportunity to close the deal.

    Best regards!

  3. Sam Higens Says:

    Hey Thanks buddy. I had a hard time building up my Lab environment after I lost couple of VMs due to a sudden power outage. But thanks to your idea it worked just like a dream.

    Cheers……….On the Rocks.

  4. This also worked for me after an unscheduled reboot for Windows Update while sleeping. I thought I lost 8 hours of work. Thanks for this!

  5. thanks… you save my day. I thought I need to reinstall the VMWare. Many thanks…

Leave a Reply

