DIRECTV – The Saga Continues …

Well it’s with regret that I’m writing this post.  I once adored DIRECTV and told all my friends how great it was.  Over the past couple years I heard horror stories about people in dealing with DIRECTV.  I use to tell them that it must just be them and usually felt it must have been something they did wrong.  The vendor just did what they had to do.

Now enter my issues with DIRECTV.

Come July of 2008 my complex found cabling wrapped in coils around the side of my townhome.  I called DIRECTV and let them know to which they stated it was an incorrect setup and they would comeout and fix it.  I confirmed that this would be at no charge and they verified that.  I asked about mounting the dish to a tripod instead of the side of the building as the property owner was changing policy procedures and was informed that I’d have to pay for the tripod.  That was completely fine as I’d already negotiatied with the property owner that I just needed to show the receipt and it would be taken off my rent due.  So the repair tech (contractor for DIRECTV) came out and agreed that the last person did a horrible job, I paid for the tripod, his phone died while on the line with DIRECTV support and I let him use my cell to call back in at which he used on speaker phone while he talked because it was “hard to hear” and hold my phone.  At this point he verified I was not to be charged for the service call.

August 2008, I get a bill that includes a charge for the service call AND a late fee because I was to “pay at the time of service”.  I called DIRECTV and tried to talk with them about what the heck happened.  I was informed that since I did not have their “protection” plan that I was liable for the service call.  I even had them go back and I gave them the service tech’s name, employee number, and call back that had come out on the call.  To this they still informed me I was liable.  I told them to cancel my account and to send me my final bill.  2 weeks later they directly debit my account from my checking account saying it was valid to do because I had used that debit card 2 times to pay my bill.  Not valid at all in my mind.  They over drew my checking in a huge way.  I called to complain, I went to my bank, both to no avail.  Then as I explained that even the amount they charged me was way to much they had to “investigate” that claim.  This took them all through October and the first part of Novemeber.  They finally agreed they owe me money.  Although much less than they owed me I agreed and said they just needed to send me the check.  Here is where I get livid … “Sir, you should expect to see payment in 6-8 weeks.”  What the heck?!?!  REALLY?!?

So here I sit six weeks later.  Still getting $0 bills saying that they owe me money (3rd month now) and still no repayment from DIRCTV.

For all those I use to shun, I’m sorry.  For those of you that have DIRECTV, I caution you to watch them very carefully.  For those of you that are friends of mine having trouble with them, I advise you get a lawyer.  They are not helpful at all.  Even when they are at fault.

Quick to draw large amounts from your account, customer service seriously lacking (unless you want to be a new customer), and if they owe you … good luck on ever seeing a resolution.

NOTE:  I was a DIRECTV customer for 6 years, took a 3 year break while moving around and used cable, then back to DIRECTV for 1 more year.  This final experiance with them will ensure I never go back.  Please note, as I stated I never had any issues with them until this date.  However, the manner in which all the calls I have place on this issue have been managed gives me enough reason never to work with this vendor again.

Again, some of you may end up looking at this the way I did when others complained, I may just be a sorry luny.  Then again, there are others of you out there that KNOW what I’m talking about.

Always remember, these posts are about MY experiances.  This does not reflect on how YOU may experiance service with the mentioned vendor.  As they say YMMV!

One Response to “DIRECTV – The Saga Continues …”

  1. I just stopped by your blog and thought I would say hello. I like your site design. Looking forward to reading more down the road.

Leave a Reply

